Frei Otto, lauréat posthume du prix Pritzker 2015

L’annonce du prix Pritzker est intervenue quelques semaines plus tôt cette année, honorant à titre posthume l’architecte et ingénieur allemand Frei Otto après sa mort le 9 mars à l’âge de 89 ans.

Lorsqu’Otto a été informé de la décision plus tôt cette année, il a humblement fait remarquer : « Je suis maintenant si heureux de recevoir ce prix Pritzker et je remercie beaucoup le jury et la famille Pritzker. Je n’ai jamais rien fait pour gagner ce prix. Ma volonté architecturale était de concevoir de nouveaux types de bâtiments pour aider les pauvres, en particulier à la suite de catastrophes naturelles et de catastrophes. Alors quoi de mieux pour moi que de gagner ce prix ? J’utiliserai le temps qu’il me reste pour continuer à faire ce que j’ai fait, c’est-à-dire aider l’humanité. Vous avez ici un homme heureux.

Otto a fondé son cabinet d’architecture indépendant à Berlin en 1952 et a travaillé sur une série de structures de tentes légères pour des expositions temporaires tout au long de la décennie. Cette approche de la matérialité et de la structure est devenue une signature d’Otto : légère, ouverte sur la nature et la lumière naturelle, non hiérarchique, démocratique, peu coûteuse et économe en énergie.

Le comité a reconnu son travail de pionnier et son approche collaborative de la discipline, élargissant le rôle de l’architecte « pour inclure chercheur, inventeur, chercheur de formes, ingénieur, constructeur, enseignant, collaborateur, environnementaliste, humaniste et créateur de bâtiments mémorables ». et les espaces.» Otto s’est tourné vers la nature et ses processus pour comprendre comment utiliser le moins de matériaux et d’énergie possible; il a été l’un des premiers penseurs dans le domaine de la durabilité avant que cela ne devienne un slogan.

La cérémonie de remise des prix 2015 aura lieu le 15 mai au New World Center de Frank Gehry à Miami Beach, où les collègues d’Otto se réuniront pour célébrer son travail et sa vie.

 

Source: metropolismag.com

architecture otto frei blog Codina Architectural

Frei Otto, posthumous winner of the 2015 Pritzker Prize

The announcement for the Pritzker Prize came a few weeks early this year, posthumously honouring German architect and engineer Frei Otto after his death on 9 March at the age of 89.

When Otto was notified of the decision earlier this year, he humbly remarked: ‘I am now so happy to receive this Pritzker Prize and I thank the jury and the Pritzker family very much. I have never done anything to gain this prize. My architectural drive was to design new types of buildings to help poor people, especially following natural disasters and catastrophes. So what shall be better for me than to win this prize? I will use whatever time is left to me to keep doing what I have been doing, which is to help humanity. You have here a happy man.’

otto frei prizeOtto founded his independent architectural practice in Berlin in 1952 and worked on a series of lightweight tent-structures for temporary exhibitions throughout the decade. This approach to materiality and structure became a signature for Otto: lightweight, open to nature and natural light, non-hierarchical, democratic, low-cost, and energy-efficient.

The committee recognized his pioneering body of work and his collaborative approach to the discipline, expanding the role of the architect ‘to include researcher, inventor, form-finder, engineer, builder, teacher, collaborator, environmentalist, humanist, and creator of memorable buildings and spaces.’ Otto looked to nature and its processes to understand ways of using the least amount of materials and energy; he was an early thinker in the field of sustainability before it became a catchphrase.

The 2015 award ceremony will take place on 15 May at Frank Gehry’s New World Center in Miami Beach, where Otto’s colleagues will gather to celebrate his work and life.

 

Source: metropolismag.com
Photos: plataformaarquitectura.com

Tags
Recent Comments
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Download catalog

catalogos-codina

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed of our news





You are giving your express consent for your email to be added to our mailing list for which BANDAS METALICAS CODINA, S.L. is responsible, for the purpose of providing the service/information you requested. Please read our Data Privacy Policy to know how we will manage the data you provided.

I declare I have read and accept the Data Privacy Policy