Sarah FitzSimons et les grandes lignes des structures de la maison

De longs poteaux en aluminium décrivant la forme d’une maison sur la rive du lac Michigan à Chicago. Titled House, la structure est de l’artiste américaine Sarah FitzSimons</ strong>, qui a passé des années à mettre en place des structures de maisons à travers le monde.

Conçu comme un contour nu sans murs ni toit, House présente le contour d’une maison typique à deux étages du Midwest américain. La structure repose à moitié sur terre et à moitié dans le lac, avec une partie de sa base immergée dans l’eau, ce qui la rend très sensible aux changements climatiques qui affectent le lac au fil du temps. Selon FitzSimons : « Semblable à un rêve, la structure est placée à moitié sur terre et à moitié dans le lac, pour faire référence aux liens réels et métaphoriques de Chicago avec l’eau ».

«Mêlant l’intérieur et l’extérieur de l’architecture, ses lignes minimales définissent l’espace d’une maison, mais elles s’ouvrent et exposent physiquement et psychologiquement l’architecture et la façon dont nous voyons, pensons et rêvons métaphoriquement des maisons», dit-elle.

House a été présentée d’octobre 2015 à avril 2016, période pendant laquelle elle a évolué et a également accueilli diverses performances liées au thème de l’espace.
Depuis 2010, l’artiste a créé trois sculptures temporaires en forme de maisons dans différentes parties du monde. Le premier était sur l’île de Mandø au Danemark, et a été suivi d’un autre à Woodside, en Californie.

image of Titled House, a Sarah FitzSimons sculpture on the Lake Michigan

Sarah FitzSimons and the outline house structures

Long aluminium poles outlining the shape of a house on the shore of Lake Michigan in Chicago. Titled House, the structure is by the American artist Sarah FitzSimons, who has spent years putting up outline house structures around the world.

Designed as a bare outline with no walls or roof, House features the outline of a typical two-storey home from the American Midwest. The structure sits half on land and half in the lake, with part of its base submerged in the water, which makes it very susceptible to the climatic changes which affect the lake over the course of time. According to FitzSimons: ‘Dream-like, the structure is placed half on land and half in the lake, to reference Chicago’s real and metaphorical connections to water’.

‘Blending the inside and outside of architecture, its minimal lines define the space of a house, yet it physically and psychologically opens and exposes the architecture and how we metaphorically view, think and dream about homes’, she says.

House was on show from October 2015 to April 2016, during which time it evolved and also hosted various performances related to the theme of space.
Since 2010, the artist has created three temporary sculptures in the form of houses in different parts of the world. The first was on the island of Mandø in Denmark, and was followed by one in Woodside, California.

Tags
Recent Comments
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Download Catalog

catalogos-codina

Subscribe to our Newsletter




You are giving your express consent for your email to be added to our mailing list for which BANDAS METALICAS CODINA, S.L. is responsible, for the purpose of providing the service/information you requested. Please read our Data Privacy Policy to know how we will manage the data you provided.

I declare I have read and accept the Data Privacy Policy