Le Messner Mountain Museum ouvre ses portes au cœur des Dolomites

Après deux ans de travaux intenses et complexes au sommet de la Kronplatz (Tyrol du Sud, Italie), le nouveau Messner Mountain Museum Corones, le sixième musée du célèbre alpiniste Reinhold Messner, conçu par le prestigieux cabinet d’architectes Zaha Hadid Architects, a maintenant ouvert ses portes au public.

Le musée, consacré à la discipline de l’escalade, ne pouvait être mieux placé qu’incrusté dans les grandes parois rocheuses de la montagne. Ce choix l’a vu logé dans un environnement naturel charmant, la Kronplatz des Dolomites, à 2 275 mètres d’altitude. Cet aspect a donné une certaine complexité à ce projet et a tenu toute l’équipe en haleine en raison des difficultés logiques de sa construction, puisque de nombreuses pièces ont dû être transportées par camion jusqu’au sommet, où les travaux ont souvent été retardés. en raison des conditions de la montagne.

Le MMM Corones ressemble à n’importe quel autre rocher et ne perturbe pas l’harmonie de la montagne et de l’environnement naturel environnant. Il émerge de la roche à travers trois grandes masses de béton armé de fibre de verre, qui contemplent le paysage montagneux. En hommage au style de Zaha Hadid, caractérisé par des formes courbes et des structures allongées qui évitent les angles droits, le béton est le matériau majoritairement utilisé dans ce projet. Cette substance a été choisie pour sa capacité d’adaptation et parce que, grâce à sa coloration naturelle, elle se fond facilement dans l’environnement. C’est un matériau qui se marie bien avec les rochers et n’est visible de l’extérieur que par l’entrée.

A l’intérieur, une rampe relie les espaces d’exposition et des marches en forme de cascades creusées dans le ventre de la montagne mènent à trois niveaux d’expositions temporaires. La rampe relie également les espaces de présentation et un petit auditorium, permettant au musée d’être l’écrin de son exposition permanente d’objets, d’images et d’instruments issus des archives Messner.

Le musée offre une vue idyllique à 240 degrés sur le paysage montagneux – qui comprend les Alpes de Zillertal, les Dolomites et le glacier de la Marmolada – et dispose d’ouvertures transparentes et de balcons pour les admirer, tout en offrant un éclairage intérieur naturel. Le bâtiment a été construit conformément aux normes énergétiques et a reçu le certificat KlimaHaus A pour les bâtiments.

Il a officiellement ouvert ses portes le 24 juillet et sera ouvert tous les jours pendant les mois d’été (de 10h à 16h). En hiver, il ouvrira ses portes du premier dimanche de décembre à mi-avril (selon les horaires d’ouverture des télécabines). L’accès au site se fait par téléphérique ou à pied, dans le cadre d’un tour de montagne.

Photo : Metalocus.es

The Messner Mountain Museum

The Messner Mountain Museum opens in the heart of the Dolomites

After two years of intense and complex work at the summit of the Kronplatz (South Tyrol, Italy), the new Messner Mountain Museum Corones—the sixth museum by the well-known mountaineer Reinhold Messner, designed by the prestigious architectural firm Zaha Hadid Architects—has now opened its doors to the public.

The museum, devoted to the discipline of climbing, could not be better placed than as embedded in the great rocky walls of the mountain. This choice has seen it housed in a charming natural environment, the Kronplatz of the Dolomites, 2,275 metres above sea level. This aspect has lent a certain degree of complexity to this project and has kept the entire team on its toes due to the logical logistical difficulties of its construction, since many pieces had to be transported by lorry to the summit, where the work was often delayed as a result of the conditions on the mountain.

The MMM Corones looks just like any other rock and does not disturb the harmony of the mountain and the surrounding natural environment. It emerges from the rock through three large masses of fibreglass-reinforced concrete, which gaze out over the mountainous landscape. In homage to Zaha Hadid’s style, characterised by curved shapes and elongated structures that avoid straight angles, concrete is the predominantly used material in this project. This substance was chosen for its adaptability and because, due to its natural colouring, it merges easily with the surroundings. It is a material that blends well with the rocks and can be seen from the outside only through the entrance.

Inside, a ramp links the exhibition spaces, and there are steps in the form of waterfalls carved into the belly of the mountain leading up to three temporary exhibition levels. The ramp also links the presentation areas and a small auditorium, allowing the museum to act as the showcase for its permanent exhibition of objects, images and instruments from the Messner archives.

The museum offers idyllic 240-degree views across the mountain landscape—which includes the Zillertal Alps, the Dolomites and the Marmolada glacier— and has transparent openings and balconies from which to admire them, while also providing natural interior lighting. The building was constructed in line with energy standards and has been awarded the KlimaHaus A certificate for buildings.

It officially opened its doors on 24 July and will be open every day during the summer months (from 10 to 4 pm). In winter it will open its doors from the first Sunday of December to mid-April (depending on opening hours of the cable cars). Access to the site is via cable car or on foot, as part of a tour of the mountain.

Photo: Metalocus.es

Tags
Recent Comments
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Download Catalog

catalogos-codina

Subscribe to our Newsletter




You are giving your express consent for your email to be added to our mailing list for which BANDAS METALICAS CODINA, S.L. is responsible, for the purpose of providing the service/information you requested. Please read our Data Privacy Policy to know how we will manage the data you provided.

I declare I have read and accept the Data Privacy Policy