Le Red Mirror Building à Séoul

Une structure spectaculaire en forme de cage faite de bandes de métal miroir et de plastique rouge abrite un immeuble de bureaux dans le centre de Séoul. Connu sous le nom de Red Mirror Building, ce travail saisissant a été conçu par Wise Architecture pour le quartier Gangnam de Séoul.

De fines bandes de miroir, de verre, d’acier et de plastique polycarbonate rouge translucide forment une grille qui entoure entièrement les deux niveaux vitrés du bâtiment et s’élève du rez-de-chaussée jusqu’au jardin sur le toit du bâtiment.

Ces bandes sont disposées en sections horizontales et verticales alternées pour créer un treillis, donnant au bâtiment un aspect de cage.

A l’intérieur, un escalier étroit aux contremarches transparentes est pris en sandwich entre deux tranches de treillis, reliant le rez-de-chaussée au toit-terrasse. Selon les mots des architectes, le jeu de la transparence et de la réflexion et les bandes superposées de différents matériaux créent une puissante illusion visuelle.

Les longues bandes de métal gris et de polycarbonate rouge sont conçues pour trembler lorsque l’escalier est utilisé. En combinaison avec la coloration et le motif multi-tons, l’objectif est de désorienter les visiteurs. En montant l’escalier étroit entre les galettes, les visiteurs peuvent avoir le vertige, expliquent les architectes, non seulement à cause de la répétition optique mais aussi à cause du frémissement des lamelles.

Le treillis s’étend au-dessus du niveau du toit pour former des balustrades translucides rayées pour la terrasse sur le toit.

Au niveau du sous-sol, les lignes et les motifs du treillis se reflètent sous une forme déformée à la surface d’un étang.

Dans un puits étroit qui longe un côté du bâtiment, de gros rochers disposés au hasard sont recouverts de mousse pour former une sorte de rocaille visible à travers les murs vitrés.

Le projet a récemment été présenté dans l’exposition « Out of the Ordinary: Award-winning Works by Young Korean Architects », organisée par la London Metropolitan University’s Cass.

 

Source : Dezeen.com

The Red Mirror Building in Seoul blog Codina Architectural

The Red Mirror Building in Seoul

A spectacular cage-like structure made from strips of mirror metal and red plastic encases an office building in central Seoul. Known as the Red Mirror Building, this striking work was designed by Wise Architecture for the Gangnam district of Seoul.

Slender bands of mirror, glass, steel and translucent red polycarbonate plastic form a grid that fully encloses the two glazed levels of the building and rises through the ground floor to the building’s roof garden.

These strips are arranged in alternating horizontal and vertical sections to create a lattice, giving the building a cage-like appearance.

Inside, a narrow staircase with transparent risers is sandwiched between two wafers of lattice, linking the ground floor with the roof terrace. In the words of the architects, the interplay of transparency and reflection and the layered strips of different materials create a powerful visual illusion.

The long strips of grey metal and red polycarbonate are designed to quiver when the staircase is used. In combination with the multi-toned colouring and pattern, the aim is to disorientate visitors. Ascending the narrow staircase between the wafers, visitors may feel dizzy, explain the architects, not only because of the optical repetition but also because of the quivering of the strips.

The lattice extends above roof level to form stripy translucent balustrades for the roof terrace.

At basement level, the lines and patterns of the lattice are reflected in distorted form on the surface of a pond.

In a narrow well that runs along one side of the building, large, randomly-disposed boulders are bedded in moss to form a kind of rock garden that’s visible through the glazed walls.

The project was recently featured in the exhibition ‘Out of the Ordinary: Award-winning Works by Young Korean Architects’, organized by London Metropolitan University’s Cass.

 

Source: Dezeen.com

Tags
Recent Comments
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Download Catalog

catalogos-codina

Subscribe to our Newsletter




You are giving your express consent for your email to be added to our mailing list for which BANDAS METALICAS CODINA, S.L. is responsible, for the purpose of providing the service/information you requested. Please read our Data Privacy Policy to know how we will manage the data you provided.

I declare I have read and accept the Data Privacy Policy